Planning Commission

Regular Meetings
  • The last Tuesday of every month
  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Workshop is held two weeks prior to meeting at 5:30 p.m.
  • City Hall Board Room
    5093 Murfreesboro Road
    La Vergne, TN 37086


Term Expiration
Earl Garvin, Jr. - Chairman
October 2010
October 31, 2025
Jason Cole - Vice-Chairman (Mayor position)
November 2018
Term of Office
Graeme Coates - Secretary
January 2001; 
August 2020 (Alderman);
December 2022
December 31, 2024
Terry Coleman
July 2021
October 31, 2027
Carol Haas (Alderman position)
December 2022
Term of Office
Jim Hesemann
November 2021
October 31, 2025
Mark Molnar
December 2022
December 31, 2024
The Planning Commission is responsible for reviewing and approving the development of the City, including all subdivision plans and building site plans. They are responsible for making necessary changes to the subdivision regulations and the major thoroughfare plan.

The Planning Commission also makes recommendations to the Board of Mayor and Aldermen regarding rezoning requests and changes to the zoning ordinance. This Commission consists of 7 members with the Mayor and one Alderman being two of those members. The Commission currently meet on the last Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. in the City Hall Board Room.  A workshop is held two weeks prior to the meeting at 5:30 p.m. to review the agenda items that are scheduled for the next meeting.